Skip to main content
The Groups page allows Covata Platform administrators to define groups of Covata users with whom files (or Secure Objects) can be shared. Permission to share a file/Secure Object with a group of users is granted through the group’s association with a label (specified when sharing this file/Secure Object). If a Covata user:
  • Belongs to any group, which in turn is associated with a label, then that Covata user can be shared a file/Secure Object when this label is specified.
  • Is not associated with a label (by virtue of their account not being a member of any group associated with this label), then that Covata user cannot be shared a file/Secure Object when this label is specified.
\covataadministration Groups page
Groups are not exposed in any way to Covata users who do not have the System administrator role.

Adding a new group

To add a new group to the Covata Platform:
  1. Sign in to Covata Administration.
  2. Click the Groups option on the left of the Covata Administration interface to open the Groups page.
    Note: If adding the first group, an existing All Users group will be present. This ‘reserved’ group contains all Covata users on your Covata Platform instance and cannot be deleted. However, labels can be modified on this group.
  3. Click the Add New button.
  4. In the Add new group dialog box, specify the:
    • Name - A name that best describes its members (i.e. Covata users) in a short sentence.
    • Description ( Optional ) - A longer description to provide more information about the group. Be aware that the value of this field is only visible when this group is subsequently edited (in the Edit group dialog box).
  5. Click Save and the new group is added and will appear as a new entry on the Groups page.
    Notes:

Modifying users on an existing group

To modify the membership of Covata users with an existing group:
  1. Sign in to Covata Administration.
  2. Click the Groups option on the left of the Covata Administration interface to open the Groups page.
  3. In the Members column, click the numbered link associated with the group whose existing Covata users are to be modified. This opens the ‘group’s members’ dialog box.
    Note: It is not possible to modify the members of the All Users group, since this ‘reserved’ group includes all Covata users on your Covata Platform instance.
  4. In this dialog box, any Covata users whose email addresses appear in the Group members section on the right are already members of the group:
  5. Click Save and the group’s membership will be modified accordingly. The number in the Members column associated with this group is updated to reflect the total number of Covata users that were in Group members section (just before clicking Save).
    Note: To associate this group (of one or more Covata users) with one or more labels (which would then allow these labels to restrict file sharing to these Covata users), see Modifying labels on an existing group.

Modifying labels on an existing group

To modify the association of labels with an existing group:
  1. Sign in to Covata Administration.
  2. Click the Groups option on the left of the Covata Administration interface to open the Groups page.
  3. In the Permissions column, click the numbered link associated with the group whose existing labels are to be modified. This opens the ‘group’s labels’ dialog box.
  4. In this dialog box, any labels which appear in the Group labels section on the right are already associated with the group:
  5. Click Save and the group’s labels will be modified accordingly. The number in the Permissions column associated with this group is updated to reflect the total number of labels that were in Group labels section (just before clicking Save).
    Note: To add one or more Covata users to this group, which would then allow these labels to restrict file sharing to these Covata users (including any others who are members of this group), see Modifying users on an existing group.

Editing an existing group

Editing an existing group allows modification of the group’s Name and Description. This functionality can also be used to view a group’s Description. To edit an existing group:
  1. Sign in to Covata Administration.
  2. Click the Groups option on the left of the Covata Administration interface to open the Groups page.
  3. Locate/scroll to the relevant group and click its Edit link.
  4. In the Edit group dialog box, modify the:
    • Name - A name that best describes its members (i.e. Covata users) in a short sentence.
    • Description ( Optional ) - A longer description to provide more information about the group. Be aware that this field is only visible from this dialog box.
  5. Click Save and the group’s Name and Description are updated accordingly.

Deleting an existing group

Deleting an existing group removes any association between the Covata users who were members of this group as well as any labels that were associated with the group. Therefore, if a Covata user was shared a file/Secure Object with a label that is associated with one or more groups (of which the user is also a member) and the deletion of one of these groups results in the user:
  • Still remaining associated with this label (through the label’s association with other groups to which the user is also a member), then the user will still have access to this file/Secure Object.
  • Losing their association with this label (because the user was not a member of any other group that had an association with this label), then the user loses access to this file/Secure Object.
To delete an existing group:
  1. Sign in to Covata Administration.
  2. Click the Groups option on the left of the Covata Administration interface to open the Groups page.
  3. Locate/scroll to the relevant group and click its Delete link.
  4. On the Delete group message box, click Yes to proceed with the group’s deletion.

Please provide your feedback here